This page has been translated from English

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

欢迎来到我们的网上资源中心

记录,表彰和鼓励

和平,正义和非暴力社会变革

世界( 和这里在家里,太!)左右。


INTRODUCING PEACEWORKERS美国

我们生活的这个世界深深沉迷于暴力和战争 ,造成了巨大的破坏对人类生命,自然的环境和子孙后代的希望和梦想。 核战争的危险,威胁到生命的存在于这个星球上。 在这一切的恐惧和毁灭面前,数以百万计的世界各地的人们正在试验有力和有效的非暴力手段,打破战争的规则。 他们正在建设的非暴力运动,挑战和改变暴力和压迫的条件和制度,并奠定了一个公正和持久的和平,这些动作都发生在世界各地,有来自智利,南非,塞尔维亚,乌克兰鼓舞人心的例子,格鲁吉亚,印度,中国,缅甸,西藏,津巴布韦和美国。 我们,世界上的人,需要更多地了解这些教训,并携手合作,培养更多的这些成功的非暴力的反应,以世界上最紧迫的挑战。

Peaceworkers的使命是支持,加强和促进非暴力运动的和平与正义,并在美国和世界各地的非暴力的调解努力

在履行这一使命,Peaceworkers是

1。 与非暴力运动中,并建立关系咨询,因为他们努力通过和平手段来改变暴力或压迫的情况。

2。 传播有关通过公开演讲,媒体宣传,研讨会和书面出版物的成长经历非暴力运动和非暴力建立和平和成功的话。 请点击这里Peaceworkers“阅读列表

3。 提供了关于积极非暴力运动和人民力量在历史上被分配的DVD的电力资源,书籍,期刊,文章和培训材料。

4。 促进世界各地的和平团体组织,包括非暴力Peaceforce,和平旅国际,基督教调解人队和朋友们和平小组的工作。 点击这里进行一个关于我们在一个和平代表团到伊朗参与的故事。

5。 鼓励和促进地区和世界的组织,包括联合国,制度化和赞助非暴力的和平,缔造和平,维持和平和。


最近的文件和演变新闻故事:


 


自由广场在开罗,埃及的精神,

来到华盛顿特区,2011年10月6日

亲爱的朋友们,

在阿富汗和伊拉克的战争和职业上的愤怒。 十年来,阿富汗人民遭受美军轰炸,入侵他们的国家和职业。 数千名无辜者死亡。 通过我们的军事行动有我们正在招募越来越多的人对基地组织和反恐战争可能会继续下去。 战争和美国成瘾军国主义破产是美国和我们的政府是被迫作出的社会服务,包括为学校经费,图书馆,职业培训,并为年轻人和老年人方案大幅度削减。

我们祈祷,我们已经写信给我们Congresspeople,我们已经vigiled,示范和去坐牢,但我们的政府并没有听取广大谁想要结束这些战争美国人民。 如果不是现在,如果,如​​果不是我们,是谁?

现在是说我们的生命和身体,这毫无意义的杀戮和破坏必须结束的时间。 这是当时美国人民必须要求我们为大家带来的美元浪费在这些战争回家见家里人的需要数十亿美元。 保安发现不是通过战争,军事基地遍布世界各地和新一代核武器,但在建设中,每个人都可以有尊严地生活与食品,教育,医疗保健和家庭居住。世界如何更安全我们是,如果我们贡献数十亿用于改善人民的生活在世界各地,而不是武器杀死?

现在是时候把解放广场的灵在埃及向美国和需求,我们的政府倾听人民,而不是军工集团和公司。

我们邀请您加入我们成千上万的谁将会在自由广场聚集在华盛顿10月6日开始持续的非暴力抵抗我们带来数十亿美元的家庭为我们的社区在这个国家,所以急需的战争和美国的军国主义和需求这些资金。

请看网站www.october2011.org ,如果圣灵感动你,加入我们的一天,一周或只要你能。 成千上万的人会非暴力要求:

  • 结束战争,把军队回家,削减军费开支,并带来几十亿$的家
  • 富人税和企业
  • 保障社会安全网,加强社会保障和医疗保险为所有
  • 结束公司福利石油公司等大企业的利益
  • 过渡到清洁能源经济,扭转环境退化
  • 保护工人权利,包括集体谈判,创造就业机会和提高工资
  • 获取金钱淡出政坛

希望看到在华盛顿许多你并请大家帮忙宣传!

和平,

大卫和扬Hartsough

2011年9月


停止战争! 创建一个新的世界!


呼吁采取行动从2011年10月的运动:

检查出的网站: www.october2011.org

2011年10月是阿富汗的入侵和2012年的联邦预算紧缩的开始10周年。 现在是时候点亮,设置了一个真正的民主,非暴力过渡到一个世界中,人们被释放创造公正和可持续的解决方案的火花。

我们的良知和勇气,所有谁寻求和平,经济正义,人权和健康的环境,联合起来在华盛顿特区,开始在2011年10月6日,在类似阿拉伯之春的非暴力抵抗的人打电话和中西部觉醒。

一场音乐会,集会和抗议将揭开序幕到企业歹徒主宰我们的政府的强大和持续的非暴力抵抗。

四十七年前,马里奥·萨维奥,一个激进的学生在伯克利,说,“有当机的操作变得如此可憎,让你这么恶心的心脏,你不能参加的时候。 你甚至不能被动地参与。 和你有在齿轮和后车轮把你的尸体,经杠杆,要求所有的设备,你得让它停下来。 和你有,以表明​​谁运行它的人来说,谁拥有它,除非你是自由的,本机将无法正常工作在所有阻止的人。“

这些话有更大的紧迫感今天。 我们面对正在进行的战争和大规模的社会经济和环境破坏企业帝国是压迫,占领和利用世界犯下的。 我们是在一个快速轨道使地球无法居住,而我们国家的中产阶级和贫困人口正在经历的最痛苦和深刻的经济危机80年。

“停止战争! •创建一个新的世界!“是一个号角谁所有热切关注与不公,军国主义和环境破坏捧场结束集中公司力量,并采取直接控制一个真正的参与式民主。 我们将鼓励电阻用音乐,艺术,戏剧和我们的国家和我们的生活直接非暴力行动,采取控制的文化。 它是关于勇敢地抵制和破坏,不仅是我们与生俱来的权利和自由,也是他们的孩子的机会,生活,呼吸清新的空气,饮用纯净水,种植食用天然的食品和生活在和平停止企业的状态。

由于母亲琼斯说,“总有一天,工人们会占有你的市政厅,而当我们这样做,没有孩子会在利润的祭坛被牺牲!”

我们是谁可以创建一个新的和公正的世界。 我们的情况被连接。 我们连接在一起。 加入我们在华盛顿特区,2011年10月6日,以结束战争,并创建一个新的世界!


“阿拉伯之春”革命按照游戏计划于1993年图书:

“阿拉伯之春”革命按照游戏1993年计划书


非暴力革命在埃及!

走向主流化的非暴力的又一步骤
由Ken Butigan | 2011年2月12日,上午11:47

,结束总统穆巴拉克30年专制统治不仅是运动创造了一个壮观的突破,为埃及的民主,它留给一个无价的礼物给我们其余的人在这个星球的每一个部分。

十八日埃及人民进行了手无寸铁的革命决心,创造力和大胆的愿意冒险。 他们游行,他们即兴,他们祈祷,他们彼此相连。 最重要的是,他们留放,并邀请全国民众加入他们的行列。

面对腐败和独裁的警察国家,这样的动作可能会被诱惑,发动武装斗争。 相反,他们伸手,尝试了,并且基本保持坚定的有关另一种方式:非暴力的人民力量。

阿protesters1

因此,他们的战术选择:大规模的示威游行,公然和无处不在的社交媒体的使用,结交军队,停工,并最终号召总罢工。

非暴力的人民力量经营的假设是暴力和不公正的制度都不是绝对的和无情的。 相反,它们是将支柱保持在适当位置。 这些道具包括警察和军队,媒体,经济力量,文化和意识形态结构,和一般民众。 非暴力抵抗运动的工作是消除这种支持。 这个过程的关键是警示,教育和动员越来越多的人在全国各地和社会撤回其同意 - 和克服恐惧的后果,这样做。

由住这一具有挑战性的课程在过去的三个星期 - 在jailings的脸,酷刑,有组织的暴徒,妖魔化国家媒体,以及一系列旨在防止真正转变政府一半的措施 - 埃及民运拉下公民的同意,经济上的可行性,一些精英,甚至官方媒体的这些支柱。 (据埃及博客谁写的Zeinobia,国家电视新闻的读者之一今天说,“我们深表歉意,我们读到的谎言对我们自己的意志。”)

由于每个支架的让位,穆巴拉克总统,尽管它的傲慢和不可战胜的长期预测,是呈现无力。

,埃及人民已经摆在我们每一个手中的礼物是普通人的力量,释放地震社会变革的晶莹剔透的例子。 这是最新的这样的例子,从工人运动和争取妇女选举权,到印度独立运动和美国民权运动,为所有具有惊人的非暴力人民功耗运动的字符串越来越长行推翻独裁政权,包括菲律宾,智利,苏联,印尼,塞尔维亚,格鲁吉亚,乌克兰和突尼斯。

每个这些现有例的一直不可估量重要。 是什么让成绩在埃及特别有价值的世界在这个时候休息,然而,就是(给示威者的决心,政权的顽固,以及社交媒体和其他技术创新的普及),我们的许多能够实时跟踪通过这一步一步的斗争,并在微小的细节如何这种巨大变化的情况发生,因此看到的。

我们能够看到这项运动的慢动作:初始呼叫,该势头,该系列的压制性攻击,祈祷,在暂时平息,意想不到的事态发展(瓦伊勒阿布Ghonim释放,例如天的电镀电源,他通电电视采访),政府的无效枝,更无效的胡萝卜,罢工的浪潮开始在全国蔓延,这竟然是权威的挑衅声明万众期待的辞职讲话,然后该撤消权威的第二天。

这18天铆接传奇世界。 它为我们提供了一种新的力量,立体的认识,通过确定的,非暴力行动来做出改变。 它为我们提供了一线希望,因为我们站在人类历史上一个巨大的十字路口。

在几乎永久的战争时期,日益增长的贫困,公民自由,生态破坏等诸多问题的威胁,人类面临的挑战和机会选择功能强大的和创造性的非暴力的替代品。 我们可以继续选择暴力和不公正的破坏性螺旋,或者我们可以建立公民社会,所有的尊严得到尊重,所有的需求得到满足。 真正的和平和人类长期生存取决于此。

埃及带给我们的非暴力选项的清晰和辐射的例子。

正如奥巴马总统在穆巴拉克辞职后的记者招待会上说,“这是非暴力的道德力量,不是恐怖主义,而不是盲目的杀戮,但非暴力,那弯曲历史的弧线朝着公正,一旦更多的是道德的力量。”

十八天,埃及“非暴力主流。”非暴力主流化并不意味着创造的地方冲突,暴力和不公不存在一个乌托邦。 相反,它是培育这种非暴力的推进方案解决的方式,既不暴力也不是被动的复杂挑战的文化的过程。 我们可以从这个强大的实验,以了解在正义这个和平和坚决的斗争。

我们都应该感谢债务埃及民运这个巨大的礼物,揭示了世界各地人民的力量和通过暴力和不公正毁坏的世界非暴力变革的可能性。


从公民外交官在伊朗的消息

从德黑兰和平博物馆的思考

不寻常的对话在波斯波利斯2010年11月10日

  

和解的奖学金赞助2010/2011

前往伊朗外交官公民和平

11月5日至20日,2010年,代表团由Peaceworkers“大卫Hartsough领导。

小于500美国公民访问伊朗每年。 然而,伊朗人民爱

美国人和是著名的波斯款待。 我们怎样才能弥合

在紧张局势加剧的这个时候我们的政府之间的政治分歧

和战争的花言巧语? 更多

圣udent非暴力协调委员会第50次团聚

由大卫Hartsough - 2010年5月10日
我有极好的机会,参与学生非暴力协调委员会(SNCC),四月15日至18日,2010年,在北卡罗来纳州罗利的50 团圆。 超过800 SNCC工人,他 ​​们的家人和朋友一起来到了四天要记住,反思,分享故事,激励年轻一代,并制定战略,如何继续说SNCC学生开始了50年前的重要工作。 更多

积极非暴力巴勒斯坦和以色列

由大卫Hartsough - 2010年3月8日

当人们认为巴勒斯坦和以色列,他们经常描绘巴勒斯坦人自杀式炸弹袭击者和恐怖分子,而以色列军方被视为轰炸整个社区在巴勒斯坦。 暴力和反暴力和无休止的战争造成了任何和平的未来绝望的圣地。

然而,在长达一个月的逗留在巴勒斯坦和以色列最近, 我发现别的东西。 我发现了一些非常积极和充满希望的也许是关键,这个悲剧性冲突的和平解决-而走向和平的未来两国人民的可能路径。

点击查看PDF格式12页,报告全文。


我的访问加沙与自由加萨

由大卫Hartsough

在战争中对加沙,被称为铸铅行动,近1400人来自40多个国家来到开罗,埃及打算去加沙,并帮助结束围困,于2007年开始进行了全面封锁和一周年一直持续到今天。 不幸的是,在以色列,或许美国强压,埃及政府并没有让大多数人进入加沙。 但是大约90从自由加萨并进入加沙从二○○九年十二月三十〇日 - 2010年1月2日。 我很荣幸地成为该组的一部分。

加沙人民过得很开心,我们已经来了,也深深赞赏1300多名其他人谁也不允许,但是游行,声援我们在开罗举行。 加沙是像一个大监狱。 加沙人所有,但完全从世界其他地方隔绝。 他们不能旅行或探亲居住的武装隔离墙接壤整个加沙,以及家庭成员和生活区外的亲戚外不能访问他们的家人在加沙。 只有非常有限的食物和医疗用品都能够得到的,建筑用品和生活的所有其他必需品无法导入,也没有货物出口。

更多...

自由加萨问题的声明

以结束以色列种族隔离

开罗宣言1月1日,2010年

我们,在从南非代表团,国家倡议的集体反应2009年自由加萨3月在开罗举行的国际代表:

鉴于:

  • 巴勒斯坦人通过非法占领和加沙地带的围困以色列正在进行的集体惩罚;
  • 非法占领西岸,包括东耶路撒冷,非法种族隔离墙和定居点的续建;
  • 正在建设中的新的长城,埃及和美国将收紧对加沙的进一步围攻;
  • 蔑视以色列,美国,加拿大,欧盟和其他国家2006年的巴勒斯坦大选后显示巴勒斯坦民主;
  • 加沙的入侵一年前期间犯下以色列的战争罪行;
  • 持续的歧视和压迫所面临以色列境内的巴勒斯坦人;
  • 数百万巴勒斯坦难民的持续放逐;
  • 所有这些暴虐行为是对犹太复国主义意识形态的支撑以色列最终根据;
  • 在我们自己的政府都给予以色列直接的经济,金融,军事和外交支持,并允许它的行为不受惩罚的知识;
  • 并铭记在联合国土著人民权利(2007年)

我们重申我们的承诺:

巴勒斯坦自决

结束占领

历史上的巴勒斯坦内平等权利的所有

返回的巴勒斯坦难民的全部权利

阅读全文


当前关心的流媒体视频:

和平与伊朗 - 对公民建立和平一小时的报告

从大卫Hartsough,董事,Peaceworkers美国

ZD YouTube的FLV播放器

请点击PLAY>按钮开始视频。

facebook twitter google_plus reddit pinterest linkedin

EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian

Welcome to our online resource center

documenting, honoring and encouraging

peace, justice, and nonviolent social change

around the world ( and right here at home, too! ).


INTRODUCING   PEACEWORKERS   USA

We live in a world deeply addicted to violence and war, resulting in tremendous devastation to human life, the natural environment and the hopes and dreams of future generations. The danger of nuclear war threatens the very existence of life on this planet. In the face of all this fear and destruction, millions of people around the world are experimenting with powerful and effective nonviolent tools to break the rules of war. They are building nonviolent movements to challenge and change violent and oppressive conditions and regimes, and laying the groundwork for a just and lasting peace These movements have taken place all over the world, with inspiring examples from Chile, South Africa, Serbia, the Ukraine, Georgia, India, China, Burma, Tibet, Zimbabwe, and the United States. We, the world’s people, need to learn more about these lessons and join together to foster more of these successful nonviolent responses to the world’s most pressing challenges.

The mission of Peaceworkers is to support, strengthen and promote nonviolent movements for peace and justice and nonviolent peacemaking efforts in the US and around the world

In carrying out this mission, Peaceworkers is

1. Consulting with and building relationships among nonviolent movements as they work to change violent or oppressive situations through peaceful means.

2. Spreading the word about the growing experience and success of nonviolent movements and nonviolent peacemaking through public presentations, media outreach, workshops and written publications. Click here for the Peaceworkers’ Reading List

3. Providing resources about the power of active nonviolent movements and People Power in history by distributing DVDs, books, journals, articles, and training materials.

4. Promoting the work of peace team organizations around the world including the Nonviolent Peaceforce, Peace Brigades International, Christian Peacemaker Teams and Friends Peace Teams.  Please click here for a story about our participation in a peace delegation to Iran.

5. Encouraging and facilitating regional and world bodies, including the United Nations, to institutionalize and sponsor nonviolent peacemaking, peace-building, and peacekeeping.


Recent Documents and Evolving News Stories:


 


The Spirit of Freedom Square in Cairo, Egypt,

Comes to Washington, DC, October 6, 2011

Dear Friends,

The wars and occupations in Afghanistan and Iraq rage on. For ten years the people of Afghanistan have suffered US bombing, invasion and occupation of their country. Thousands of innocent people have died. Through our military actions there we are recruiting ever more people to Al-Qaeda and the war on terrorism could continue forever. The wars and US addiction to militarism are bankrupting the United States and our government is forced to make drastic cuts in social services including funds for schools, libraries, job training, and programs for the young and elderly.

We have prayed, we have written letters to our Congresspeople, we have vigiled, demonstrated and gone to jail, but our government has not listened to the majority of American people who want to end these wars. If not now, When, If not us, Who?

NOW is the time to speak with our lives and bodies that this senseless killing and destruction must end. This is the time the American people must DEMAND that we bring the Billions of dollars squandered in these wars home to meet human needs at home.  Security is found not through wars, military bases all over the world and a new generation of nuclear weapons, but in  building a world in which every person can live with dignity with food, education, healthcare and a home to live in. How much safer we would be if we contributed billions for improving the lives of people all over the world rather than for weapons to kill?

Now is the time to bring the Spirit of Tahrir Square in Egypt to the United States and demand that our government listen to the people instead of the military industrial complex and the corporations.

We invite you to join thousands of us who will gather in Freedom Plaza in Washington DC October 6 to begin sustained nonviolent resistance to the wars and American militarism and demand that we bring the billions of dollars home to our communities across this country which so badly need these funds.

Please look at the website www.october2011.org and if the Spirit moves you, join us for a day, a week or as long as you can. Thousands of us will nonviolently demand:

  • End the wars, bring the troops home, cut military spending and bring the billions of $ home
  • Tax the Rich and corporations
  • Protect the Social Security net, strengthen Social Security and Medicare for all
  • End corporate welfare for oil companies and other big business interests
  • Transition to a clean energy economy, reverse environmental degradation
  • Protect worker rights including collective bargaining, create jobs and raise wages
  • Get Money out of politics

Hope to see many of you in Washington and please help spread the word!

Peace,

David and Jan Hartsough

September, 2011


 Stop the Wars! Create a New World!


A Call to Action from the Oct. 2011 movement: 

check out the website: www.october2011.org

October 2011 is the 10th anniversary of the invasion of Afghanistan and the beginning of the 2012 federal austerity budget. It is time to light the spark that sets off a true democratic, nonviolent transition to a world in which people are freed to create just and sustainable solutions.

We call on people of conscience and courage—all who seek peace, economic justice, human rights and a healthy environment—to join together in Washington, D.C., beginning on Oct. 6, 2011, in nonviolent resistance similar to the Arab Spring and the Midwest awakening.

A concert, rally and protest will kick off a powerful and sustained nonviolent resistance to the corporate criminals that dominate our government.

Forty-seven years ago, Mario Savio, an activist student at Berkeley, said, “There’s a time when the operation of the machine becomes so odious—makes you so sick at heart—that you can’t take part. You can’t even passively take part. And you’ve got to put your bodies upon the gears and upon the wheels, upon the levers, upon all the apparatus, and you’ve got to make it stop. And you’ve got to indicate to the people who run it, to the people who own it, that unless you’re free, the machine will be prevented from working at all.”

Those words have an even greater urgency today. We face ongoing wars and massive socio-economic and environmental destruction perpetrated by a corporate empire which is oppressing, occupying and exploiting the world. We are on a fast track to making the planet unlivable while the middle class and poor people of our country are undergoing the most wrenching and profound economic crisis in 80 years.

“Stop the Wars! • Create a New World!” is a clarion call for all who are deeply concerned with injustice, militarism and environmental destruction to join in ending concentrated corporate power and taking direct control of a real participatory democracy. We will encourage a culture of resistance—using music, art, theater and direct nonviolent action—to take control of our country and our lives. It is about courageously resisting and stopping the corporate state from destroying not only our inherent rights and freedoms, but also our children’s chance to live, breathe clean air, drink pure water, grow edible natural food and live in peace.

As Mother Jones said, “Someday the workers will take possession of your city hall, and when we do, no child will be sacrificed on the altar of profit!”

We are the ones who can create a new and just world. Our issues are connected. We are connected. Join us in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 6, 2011, to End the Wars and Create a New World!


‘Arab Spring’ Revolutions Follow Game Plan from 1993 Book:

'Arab Spring' Revolutions Follow Game Plan from 1993 Book


Nonviolent Revolution in Egypt!

Another step toward mainstreaming nonviolence
by Ken Butigan | February 12, 2011, 11:47 am

The movement that ended President Hosni Mubarak’s thirty year autocratic rule not only has created a spectacular breakthrough for Egyptian democracy, it has bequeathed a priceless gift to the rest of us in every part of the planet.

For eighteen days the Egyptian people carried out an unarmed revolution with determination, creativity, and a daring willingness to risk.  They marched, they improvised, they prayed, they connected with one another.  Most of all, they stayed put—and invited the nation to join them.

Faced with a corrupt and dictatorial police state, such a movement might have been tempted to wage armed struggle. Instead, they reached for, experimented with, and remained largely steadfast about another way: nonviolent people power.

  

arab-protesters1

  

Hence the tactics they chose: Massive demonstrations, brazen and ubiquitous use of social media, befriending the army, work stoppages, and eventually the call for a general strike.

Nonviolent people power operates on the assumption that systems of violence and injustice are not absolute and implacable.  Rather, they are kept in place by pillars of support.  These props include the police and army; the media; economic forces; cultural and ideological structures; and the general population.  The job of a nonviolent resistance movement is to remove this support.  Key to this process is alerting, educating, and mobilizing a growing number of people throughout the nation or society to withdraw their consent – and to overcome their fear of the consequences for doing so.

By staying this challenging course over the past three weeks – in the face of jailings, torture, organized thugs, demonization by state media, as well as a series of government half-measures designed to prevent real change – the Egyptian pro-democracy movement pulled down these pillars of citizen consent, economic viability, a number of elites, and even state media.  (According to an Egyptian blogger who writes as Zeinobia, one of the state television news readers today said, “We apologize, we read lies against our own will.”)

As each of these supports gave way, the Mubarak presidency, despite its hubris and long-time projection of invincibility, was rendered powerless.

The gift that the Egyptian people have placed in each of our hands is the crystal clear example of the power of ordinary people to unleash seismic social change.  It is the latest in an increasingly long line of such examples—from the labor movement and the struggle for women’s suffrage, to the Indian Independence movement and the US Civil Rights movement, to the string of breath-taking nonviolent people-power movements that have toppled dictatorial regimes, including in the Philippines, Chile, the Soviet Union, Indonesia, Serbia, Georgia, Ukraine, and Tunisia.

Each of these prior cases has been incalculably important.  What makes the accomplishment in Egypt especially valuable to the rest of the world at this time, however, is that (given the determination of the demonstrators, the stubbornness of the regime, and the ubiquity of social media and other technological innovations) many of us were able to follow this struggle step by step in real time and to therefore see in minute detail how this kind of monumental change happens.

We were able to see this campaign in slow motion: the initial call, the gathering momentum, the series of repressive attacks, the galvanizing power of Days of Prayer, the lulls, the unexpected developments (the release of Wael Ghonim, for example, and his electrifying television interview), the government’s ineffective sticks and even more ineffective carrots, the wave of strikes that began to spread across the country, the much anticipated resignation speech that turned out to be a defiant declaration of authority, and then the undoing of that authority the next day.

This eighteen day saga riveted the world.  It offered us a new, three-dimensional awareness of our power to make change through determined, nonviolent action.  And it offers us a glimmer of hope as we stand at a monumental crossroads in human history.

In a time of virtually permanent war, growing poverty, threats to civil liberties, ecological devastation, and many other problems, humanity faces the challenge and opportunity to choose powerful and creative nonviolent alternatives. We can continue to opt for the devastating spiral of violence and injustice, or we can build civil societies where the dignity of all is respected and the needs of all are met. True peace and long-term human survival depend on this.

Egypt gives us a clear and radiant example of the nonviolent option.

As President Obama said in a press conference after Hosni Mubarak’s resignation, “It was the moral force of nonviolence, not terrorism, not mindless killing but nonviolence, a moral force that bent the arc of history toward justice once more.”

For eighteen days, Egypt “mainstreamed nonviolence.”  Mainstreaming nonviolence does not mean creating a utopia where conflict, violence, and injustice do not exist. Instead, it is the process of nurturing a culture that advances nonviolent options for addressing complicated challenges in ways that are neither violent nor passive.  We have much to learn from this powerful experiment in this peaceful and determined struggle for justice.

All of us owe debt of gratitude to the pro-democracy movement in Egypt for this monumental gift that reveals for people everywhere the power and possibilities of nonviolent change in a world wracked by violence and injustice.


Messages from Citizen Diplomats in Iran

Reflections from the Tehran Peace Museum

Unusual Conversations at Persepolis Nov 10, 2010

  

Fellowship of Reconciliation Sponsors 2010/2011

Travel to Iran as Citizen Diplomats for Peace

November 5 to 20, 2010, delegation to be led by Peaceworkers’ David Hartsough.

Less than 500 U.S. citizens visit Iran each year. Yet the Iranian people love

Americans, and are famous for their Persian hospitality. How can we bridge the

political divisions between our governments at this time of heightened tensions

and rhetoric of war?   more

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee 50th Reunion

By David Hartsough  — May 10, 2010
I had the wonderful opportunity to participate in the 50 th reunion of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), April 15-18, 2010, in Raleigh, NC.  Over 800 SNCC workers, their families and friends came together for four days to remember, reflect, share stories, inspire a younger generation, and strategize about how to continue the important work that SNCC students started 50 years ago.     more

Active Nonviolence in Palestine and Israel

By David Hartsough — March 8, 2010

When people think of Palestine and Israel, they often picture Palestinians as suicide bombers and terrorists while the Israeli military are seen as bombing whole neighborhoods in Palestine.  The violence and counter-violence and endless war has created a hopelessness about any peaceful future for the Holy Land.

However, during a month-long stay in Palestine and Israel recently, I found something else.  I found something very positive and hopeful and perhaps the key to a peaceful resolution of this tragic conflict — and a possible path toward a peaceful future for both peoples.  

Click here for 12-page, full report in PDF format.

 


My Visit to Gaza with the Gaza Freedom March

by David Hartsough

On the first anniversary of  the War on Gaza, known as Operation Cast Lead, close to fourteen hundred people from more than 40 countries came to Cairo, Egypt planning to go to Gaza and help end the Siege, a total blockade which began in 2007 and continues today. Unfortunately, under extreme pressure from Israel and perhaps the United States, the Egyptian government did not allow most of us to enter Gaza. However about ninety from the GAZA FREEDOM MARCH did get into Gaza from Dec. 30, 2009-Jan 2, 2010.  I was privileged to be part of that group.

The people of Gaza were so happy we had come, and also deeply appreciated the more than 1,300 others who were not allowed in, but marched in solidarity with us in Cairo. Gaza is like a large prison.  The people of Gaza are all but completely cut off from the rest of the world. They cannot travel or visit relatives living outside the armed apartheid wall which borders all of Gaza, and family members and relatives living outside the area cannot visit their families in Gaza.  Only very limited food and medical supplies are able to get in, building supplies and all the other necessities of life can not be imported, and no goods are exported.

more…

Gaza Freedom March Issues Declaration

to End Israeli Apartheid

The Cairo Declaration of January 1, 2010

We, international delegates meeting in Cairo during the Gaza Freedom March 2009 in collective response to an initiative from the South African delegation, state:

In view of:

  • Israel’s ongoing collective punishment of Palestinians through the illegal occupation and siege of Gaza;
  • the illegal occupation of the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, and the continued construction of the illegal Apartheid Wall and settlements;
  • the new Wall under construction by Egypt and the US which will tighten even further the siege of Gaza;
  • the contempt for Palestinian democracy shown by Israel, the US, Canada, the EU and others after the Palestinian elections of 2006;
  • the war crimes committed by Israel during the invasion of Gaza one year ago;
  • the continuing discrimination and repression faced by Palestinians within Israel;
  • and the continuing exile of millions of Palestinian refugees;
  • all of which oppressive acts are based ultimately on the Zionist ideology which underpins Israel;
  • in the knowledge that our own governments have given Israel direct economic, financial, military and diplomatic support and allowed it to behave with impunity;
  • and mindful of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous People (2007)

We reaffirm our commitment to:

Palestinian Self-Determination

Ending the Occupation

Equal Rights for All within historic Palestine

The full Right of Return for Palestinian refugees

Read more


Streaming video of current interest:

Peace With Iran — A One-hour Report on Citizen Peacemaking

from David Hartsough, Director, Peaceworkers USA

 

ZD YouTube FLV Player

Please click PLAY > button to start video.

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin